TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN

Once I saved 
While others played
I came fresh faced
In a suit of blue
Sacrificed on the altar 
Of others' agendas
Sent scurrying to find
Things that were never there
Was given love
Only to have it taken away
Was made to laugh
Until I cried
A man of peace
Hardened enough to kill
I always went crazy
In the final reel
"Since I lost my baby"
Is all I play
On every jukebox
That I find
In this burnt out wasteland
Of broken hearts
Paperback dreams
Second hand lives
Mercy murders
The billboards tell the truth
There's nothin' down here worth savin'
We've filled our lives with shit
Auctioned off paradise
And gambled away the money
The writers get degraded
And then ignored
They're resented for knowing too much
About what makes things tick
Now there's a lonely kid
Livin' on the street
With dreams of makin' it big
But little does he know
He's already dead
Dead to the world
Dead on arrival
At the feet of the paedophiles
And the worshippers of Satan
Who shape shift
Into human beings
Regret is my supper
For turning my face away
From all the horrors I have witnessed
That killed me
Piece by piece
Believing politicians
That didn't even believe themselves
Until it was too late

(c) Frank Howson 2017





 

Leave a Reply

